Testing for Middle School Students in North Carolina

NOTE :: Various file formats are used on this page that may require download. If larger than 1mb, it will take longer to download. For instructions or more information, please visit our download page.

In North Carolina, middle school students are required to take the following assessments:

End-of-Grade Assessments (EOGs) in Grades 6, 7, and 8 for Mathematics and Reading

End-of-Grade Test (EOG) in Grade 8 Science

  • General Information

  • Test Resources
    Sample items for the EOG Science at grade 8

  • No Child Left Behind requires annual assessment of student achievement in science at least once in grades 3-5, 6-9, and 10-12, beginning in 2007. North Carolina will be meeting this federal requirement with the Grade 8 Science EOG.

Questions or Concerns
If you have additional questions or concerns regarding testing for middle school students, please use this link to contact us.