CONTACT :: Dr. Kristi Day

English Language Arts

On April 6, 2017, North Carolina adopted the most recent K-12 English Language Arts (ELA) Standards. With this adoption, the standards became part of the North Carolina Standard Course of Study (NCSCoS).

The ELA Standards are based on research and evidence that describe the competencies necessary for all students to become career and college ready by the end of high school, outlining a vision of what it means to be a literate person in the 21st Century.

Standards Design

Anchor Standards: The Career and College Ready (CCR) anchor standards offer broad expectations that must be met in order for students to be prepared to enter college and the workforce.

Grade-Specific Standards: The K-12 Grade-specific standards have a one-to-one correspondence with the Career and College Ready Anchor Standards. They provide end of the year expectations.

Individual grade levels are used K-8 to provide necessary specificity. Two-year grade bands are used in grades 9-12.

The ELA Standards are organized into four strands:

  • Reading (Informational and Literary)
    • Includes Reading Foundational Skills for K-5 students
  • Writing
  • Speaking and Listening
  • Language

Though the standards are divided into strands, the standards support an integrated model of literacy.