NOTE :: Various file formats are used on this page that may require download. If larger than 1mb, it will take longer to download. For instructions or more information, please visit our download page.

The State Board of Education and the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction are committed to providing personalized, digital-age education that K-12 students need to be successful in college, careers, and as globally engaged, productive citizens. For student standards in the areas of Digital Learning (K-12), NC has adopted the International Society for Technology in Education Standards for Students.

Implementation of the NC Standard Course of Study for Digital Learning Grades K-12 will begin in the 2020-2021 school year. North Carolina’s Digital Learning Standards are designed to be delivered by classroom teachers in all curricular areas and grade levels providing students the equitable opportunity to learn in a digitally enabled classroom. The Digital Learning Standards encompass the following:

  • Digital citizenship, data privacy, and cyber safety
  • Digital-aged skills that enable students to be college and career ready
  • Creation, collaboration, communication, and critical thinking skills
  • Inquiry and design thinking learning opportunities




During 2009, Digital Teaching and Learning staff members worked with LEA representatives and other DPI staff to create Information and Technology Essential Standards. These standards were developed using Bloom's Revised Taxonomy and replace the Computer Skills and Information Literacy Standard Courses of Study. The standards were piloted in 2010-2011.

These standards are critical building blocks for the education of our students. ITES represent the "must have" information and technology skills and knowledge that each student must have in order to achieve success at the next level. The standards are designed to be delivered by classroom teachers in all curricular areas and grade levels. As the ITES are taught throughout all classrooms and across all curricular areas, it is essential that classroom teachers collaborate with school library media coordinators and instructional technology facilitators in delivering this instruction. School library media coordinators and instructional technology facilitators should be active participants in grade level and/or curricular area planning groups as these teams analyze student data, identify learning goals, plan and deliver instruction, and assess student progress.

The Information and Technology Essential Standards are organized into the following 5 strands. A document containing the learning progression from K through 9-12 is linked to the title of the strand.

Learning Progressions:

Strands of Information and Technology Essential Standards

Strand Alignment Forms

  • Sources of Alignment Information Form
    (doc, 40kb)
  • Informational Text Alignment Form
    (doc, 35kb)
  • Technology as a Tool Alignment Form
    (doc, 39kb)
  • Research Process Alignment Form
    (doc, 34kb)
  • Safety and Ethical Use Alignment Form
    (doc, 37kb)

Essential Standards

The documents below include the Essential Standards for each grade with a sampling of clarifying objectives. These clarifying objectives are not required curricular objectives but are rather an example to aid local curriculum development.

Alignment Documents

Description and Link

Alignment of ITES, AASL, NETS-S Instruction
(pdf, 69kb)


American Association of School Librarians

Sheena Russell, Randolph County Schools

NC Professional Teacher Standards

Professional Teacher Standards
(pdf, 95kb)

Professional Development Plan Form
(doc, 62kb)