To access Quick Links, visit our text-only version.

. Public Schools of North Carolina . . State Board of Education . . Department Of Public Instruction .

TITLE IX COORDINATORS

TITLE IX LEA CONTACTS

Each LEA should have a designated Title IX coordinator and that name should be on file with the DPI's State Title IX Coordinator. LEAs should also have a statement of nondiscrimination that is displayed on employment applications and LEA-produced documents. The statement should be communicated to the entire school community and placed in prominent locations.
(doc, 152kb)


TITLE IX STATE EDUCATION AGENCY COORDINATORS


Alabama

James Nuckles
Education Administrator
Alabama Department of Education
P. O. Box 302101
Montgomery, AL 36130-2101
Phone: 334.242.8444
E-mail: jnuckles@alsde.edu
Website: http://www.alsde.edu


Alaska

Coney Danitz
Gender Equity Administrator
Alaska Department of Education
801 West 10th St., Ste. 200
Juneau, AK 99801-1849
Phone: 907.465.8681
Fax: 907.465.1686
E-mail: Coney_Danitz@eed.state.ak.us
Website: http://www.eed.state.ak.us/


Arizona

Manuel V. Cisneros
Director Governor's Office of Equal Opportunity
1700 West Washington
Phoenix, Arizona 85007
Phone: 1.866.849.4822
E-mail: EqualOpportunity@az.gov
Website: http://www.ade.state.az.us/


Arkansas

Berthenia Gill
Title IX and Title IV Contact
Arkansas Department of Education
#4 Capitol Mall
Little Rock, AR 722
Phone: 501.682.4213
E-mail: bgill@arkedu.k12.ar.us
Website: http://arkedu.state.ar.us/


California

R. Mary Gallet, Ph.D
Educational Equity/Title IX Compliance Coordinator
California Department of Education
Secondary, Post-secondary and Adult Leadership Division
1430 N Street, Suite 4503
Sacramento, CA 95814
Phone: 916.445.5723
Fax: 916.322.1757
Email: mgallet@cde.ca.gov
Website: http://www.cde.ca.gov/


Colorado

Patrick B. Chapman
Director of Consolidated Federal Programs
Colorado Department of Education
201 East Colfax Avenue
Denver CO 80203
Phone: 303.866.6780
Fax: 303.866.6637
E-mail: chapman_p@cde.state.co.us
Website: http://www.cde.state.co.us/


*Connecticut

William Howe
Education Consultant for Multicultural Education and Gender Equity
Bureau of Certification & Professional Development
Connecticut State Department of Education
165 Capitol Avenue, Room 243, Box 150471
Hartford, CT 06115-0471
Phone: 860.713.6542
Fax: 860.713.7453
E-mail: william.howe@po.state.ct.us
Website: http://www.state.ct.us/sde/Equity/TitleIX/


Delaware

William S. Bowles, III
Director, Human Resources and Quality Management
Delaware Department of Education
401 Federal Street, Suite #2
Dover, Delaware 19901
Phone: 302.739.4604
Fax: 302.739.4654
E-mail: wbowles@doe.k12.de.us
Website: http://www.doe.state.de.us/


District of Columbia

Julia Martas
Civil Rights and Monitoring Specialist
DCPS Office for Career and Tech. Ed.
825 N. Capital St., NE, Room 8102
Washington, D.C. 20002-4232
Phone: 202.442.5064
Fax: 202.442.5081
E-mail: julia.martas@k12.dc.us
Website: http://www.k12.dc.us/dcps/home.html


Esther Monclova-Johnson

Director
Office of Civil Rights and Multicultural Affairs
825 N. Capital St., NE,
Washington, D.C. 20002-4232
Phone: 202.442.5158
E-mail: esther.monclova-johnson@K12.dc.us
Website: http://www.k12.dc.us/dcps/home.html


*Florida

Adeola Fayemi
Office of Equity and Access
1446 Turlington Building,
Tallahassee, Florida 32399-0400
Phone: 850.245.0511
Fax: 850.245.9551
E-mail: adeola.fayemi@fldoe.org
Website: http://www.firn.edu/doe/eeop/


*Georgia

Judson Turner
General Counsel
Legal Services
2052 Twin Towers East
Atlanta, Georgia 30334
Phone: 404.656.4689
Fax: 404.657.8376
E-mail: jturner@doe.k12.ga.us
Website: http://www.doe.k12.ga.us/doe/legalservices/equity.asp


Hawaii

Raymond Fujino
Civil Rights Compliance Office
Hawai'i Department of Education
P.O. Box 2360
Honolulu, Hawai'i 96804
Phone: 808.586.3327
Fax: 808.586.3331
Email: Raymond_Fujino@notes.k12.hi.us
Website: http://doe.k12.hi.us/


Idaho

Tom C. Farley
Bureau Chief/Fed. Programs
Idaho Department of Education
P.O. Box 83720
Boise, Idaho 83720-0027
Phone: 208.332.6891
Fax: 208.334.2228
E-mail: tefarley@sde.state.id.us
Website: http://www.sde.state.id.us/Dept/


Illinois

Bill Alexander
Title IX Officer
Illinois State Board of Education
100 W. Randolph, Suite 14-300
Chicago, IL 60601
Phone: 217.782.2948
Fax: 217.524.8750
E-mail: walexand@isbe.net
Website: http://www.isbe.net/accountability/html/equity_contacts.htm
Notes: Contact Mr. Alexander for information or assistance related to issues of gender equity in schools, including compliance with the requirements affecting public school districts under the Illinois Sex Equity Rules or Title IX.


Eric Thatcher
Illinois State Board of Education
100 W. Randolph, Suite 14-300
Chicago, IL 60601
Phone: 217.782.2948
Fax: 217.524.8750
E-mail: ethatche@isbe.net
Website: http://www.isbe.net/accountability/html/equity_contacts.htm
Notes: Contact Mr. Thatcher for information or assistance specifically related to issues of gender equity in sports, including compliance with the requirements affecting schools and school districts under the Illinois Sex Equity Rules or Title IX.


Indiana

Note: Indiana has Title IX Coordinators for districts. Contact your district for more information.
To find your school’s district go to: http://www.doe.state.in.us

Or contact:

Risa Regnier
Indiana Department of Education
Room 229, State House
Indianapolis, IN 46204-2798
Phone: 317-232-0506
Fax: 317-232-0504
E-mail: rregnier@doe.state.in.us
Website: http://www.doe.state.in.us


Iowa

Tom Andersen
Education Equity Review
Iowa Department of Education
Department of Education
Grimes State Office Building
Des Moines, IA 50319-0146
Phone: 515.281.4723
Fax: 515.242.5988
E-mail: tom.andersen@iowa.gov
Website: http://www.state.ia.us/educate/


Kansas

Rod Bieker
Title IX Coordinator
120 SE 10th Ave.
Topeka, KS, 66612-1182
Phone: 785.296.3204
Fax: 785.296.7933
E-mail: rbieker@ksde.org
Website: http://www.ksbe.state.ks.us/Welcome.html


Kentucky

Roger Cleveland
Director, Division of Equity
Kentucky Department of Education
Capital Plaza Tower
500 Mero Street, Floor 8
Frankfort, KY 40601
Phone: 564-3791 ext. 4046
E-mail: rclevela@kde.state.ky.us
Website: http://www.education.ky.gov/KDE/Instructional+Resources/Closing+the+Gap/Equity/default.htm


Louisiana

John Guilbeau
Deputy Undersecretary
Louisiana Department of Education
Executive Office of the Superintendent
P.O. Box 94064
Baton Rouge, LA 70802
Phone: 225.342.2098
E-mail: john.guilbeau@la.gov
Website: http://www.ksbe.state.ks.us/Welcome.html


Maine

Mr. Leslie "Buzz" Gamble
Education Specialist
Career and Technical Education Team
23 State House Station
Augusta, ME 04333-0023
Phone: 207.624.6730
Fax: 207.624.6731
E-mail: buzz.gamble@state.me.us
Website: http://www.state.me.us/education/vocequity/


Massachusetts

Ms. Valian Norris
Human Resources
350 Main Street
Malden, MA 02148-5023
Phone: 781.338.6100
Fax: 781.338.3387
E-mail: hrservices@doe.mass.edu
Website: http://www.doe.mass.edu/


Maryland

Linda Shevitz
Senior Educational Equity Specialist
Equity Assurance & Compliance Office
Office of the State Superintendent
200 West Baltimore Street
Baltimore, MD 21201
Phone: 410.767.0428
E-mail: lshevitz@msde.state.md.us
Website: http://www.marylandpublicschools.org/MSDE


Michigan

Norma Tims
Gender Equity Consultant
Michigan Dept of Labor and Economic Growth
Office of Career and Technical Preparation
PO Box 30712
Lansing, MI 48909
Phone: 517.241.2091
E-mail: timsn@michigan.gov


Minnesota

Sue Sattel
Enrollment Options & Gender Equity Specialist
Minnesota Department of Education
1500 Highway 36 West, Roseville, MN 55113-4266
Phone: 651.582.8471
E-mail: sue.sattel@state.mn.us
Website: http://education.state.mn.us/html/mde_home.htm


Mississippi

Ethel Carson
Director, Office of Human Resources
Mississippi Department of Education
359 North West Street
P.O. Box 771
Jackson, MS 39205
Phone: 601.359.3511
Fax: 601.359.1748
E-mail: ecarson@mde.k12.ms.us
Website: http://www.mde.k12.ms.us/


Missouri

Jean Cole
Director, Equity Services
PO Box 480
Jefferson City, MO 65102
Phone: 573.751.4581
Fax: 573.526.4261
E-mail: jean.cole@dese.mo.gov
Website: http://www.dese.state.mo.us/


Montana

Kathy Bramer
Personnel Director
P.O. Box 202501
Helena MT 59620-2501
Phone: 406.444.3161
Fax: 406.444.2893
E-mail: kbramer@mt.gov
Website: http://www.opi.state.mt.us


Nebraska

Nancy Rowch
Director
ELL and Immigrant Education
Nebraska Department of Education
301 Centennial Mall South
P.O. Box 94987
Lincoln, NE 68509
Phone: 402.471.2477
Fax: 402.471.8127
E-mail: nrowch@nde.state.ne.us
Website: http://www.nde.state.ne.us/

Jessie Myles
Director
Multicultural/Urban Education
Nebraska Department of Education
301 Centennial Mall South
P.O. Box 94987
Lincoln, NE 68509
Phone: 402.471.4694
E-mail: jmyles@nde.state.ne.us
Website: http://www.nde.state.ne.us/


Nevada

Gary Wyatt
Education Consultant
Office of Career, Tech. & Adult Ed.
Nevada Department of Education
700 E. Fifth Street
Carson City, NV 89701
Phone: 775.687.9197
Fax: 775.687.9101
E-mail: gwyatt@doe.nv.gov
Website: http://www.doe.nv.gov/


New Hampshire

Brenda Cochrane
New Hampshire Department of Education
101 Pleasant Street
Concord, NH 03301-3860
Phone: 603.271.3743
Fax: 603.271.1953
E-mail: bcochrane@ed.state.nh.us
Website: http://www.ed.state.nh.us/education/


New Jersey

Mary Conrad
New Jersey Department of Education
PO BOX 500
TRENTON, NJ 08625
Phone: 609.984.5909
E-mail: mary.conrad@doe.state.nj.us
Website: http://www.state.nj.us/education


New Mexico

Bernard Raymond
New Mexico Public Education Dept.
300 Don Gaspar
Santa Fe, NM 87501-2786
Phone: 505.827.5829
E-mail: braymond@ped.state.nm.us
Website: http://www.ped.state.nm.us/


New York

Michael Moon
State Education Department,
Education Building,
Albany, New York 12234
Phone: 518.474.5923
E-mail: mmoon@mail.nysed.gov
Website: http://www.nycenet.edu/default.aspx
Notes: Civil Rights (Race and sex equity)


North Carolina

Carolyn Guthrie
North Carolina DPI
301 N. Wilmington St.
Raleigh, NC 27601
Phone: 919.807.3762
E-mail: carolyn.guthrie@dpi.nc.gov
Website: http://www.ncpublicschools.org/


North Dakota

John Dasovick
Assistant Director
USDA Food Distribution Programs
Office of Child Nutrition
600 E Boulevard Ave.,
Bismarck, ND 58505,
Phone: 518.474.5923
E-mail: jdasovick@state.nd.us
Website: http://www.dpi.state.nd.us/
Notes: Has been designated to handle inquires regarding nondiscrimination.


Ohio

Note: MOA Coordinator an unofficial SEA Title IX contract.

Elizabeth Badurina
Ohio Department of Education
Office of Career, Technical and Adult Education
25 Front St, Mail Stop 610
Columbus, OH 43215-4101
Tel: 614.387.2243
Fax: 614.466.2573
Email: elizabeth.badurina@ode.state.oh.us


Oklahoma

Joni Younts
Title IX Coordinator
Oklahoma State Dept. of Education
2500 N. Lincoln Boulevard, Room 111
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma 73105
Phone: 405.521.3977
E-mail: joni_younts@sde.state.ok.us
Website: http://sde.state.ok.us/home/defaultie.html


Oregon

Winston Cornwall
Oregon Department of Education
255 Capitol Street NE Salem, OR 97310-0203
Phone: 503.378.3600 x2708
E-mail: winston.cornwall@state.or.us
Website: http://www.ode.state.or.us/


Pennsylvania

Marian Echols-Clark
School Services Unit Director
Pennsylvania Department of Education
333 Market Street
Harrisburg, PA 17126
Phone: 717.772.3618
Fax: 717.783.6802
E-mail: mecholscla@state.pa.us
Website: http://www.pde.state.pa.us/


Rhode Island

Marvin L. Abney
RI Dept. of Ed.
225 Westminister St.
Providence, RI 02903
Phone: 401.222.4600
E-mail: marvin.abney@ride.ri.gov
Website: http://www.ridoe.net/


South Carolina

Merri Long
Education Association
Office Of Career And Technology Education
South Carolina Department of Education
1429 Senate Street
Columbia, S.C. 29201
Phone: 803.734.8451
E-mail: mlong@sde.state.sc.us
Website: http://www.myscschools.com/


Tennessee

Note: LEA coordinators only. For more information contact:

Gloria Williams
Director
Office of Civil Rights
TN Department of Education
Andrew Johnson Tower – 6th Floor
Nashville, TN 37243-0375
E-mail: Gloria.Lynn.Williams@state.tn.us
Website: http://www.state.tn.us/education/civilrights.htm


Texas

Texas Education Agency
1701 North Congress Avenue
Austin, Texas, 78701
Phone: 512.463.9734
Website: http://www.tea.state.tx.us/

Note:Title IX Coordinators are split up into different sections:

  • Consolidated Administrative Funds
  • Persistently Dangerous Schools
  • Private Schools
NCLB Program Coordination
Phone: 512.463.9374
  • Maintenance of Effort

Formula Funding,
Phone: 512.463.852

  • School Prayer
  • Boys Scouts of America Equal Access Act
  • Equal Access to Public School Facilities

Chris Maska (legal)
Phone: 512.463.9720


Utah

Richard Gomez
Utah State Office of Education
250 East 500 South
P O Box 144200
Salt Lake City, Utah
Phone: 801.538.7643
Fax: 801.538.7596
E-mail: rgomez@schools.utah.gov
Website: http://www.usoe.k12.ut.us/equity/
Notes: Gomez is monitor for state civil rights compliance for Title IX and
State Civil Rights Monitory Officer for Title VI, Title IX, Sec. 504, Title VII


Vermont

Mia Karvonides
Vermont Department of Education
120 State Street
Montpelier, VT 05620-2501
E-mail: miakarvonides@education.state.vt.us
Website: http://www.state.vt.us/educ/


Virginia

Sandra Ruffin
Virginia Department of Education
PO Box 2120
Richmond, VA 23218
Phone: 804.225.2768
E-mail: sruffin@mail.vak12ed.edu
Website: http://www.pen.k12.va.us/


Washington

Darcy Lees
Old Capitol Building,
PO Box 47200,
Olympia, WA 98504-7200
Phone: 360.725.6236
E-mail: dlees@ospi.wednet.edu
Website: http://www.k12.wa.us/Equity/default.aspx


West Virginia

Tony Smedley
West Virginia Department of Education
1900 Kanawha Boulevard East
Charleston, WV 25305
E-mail: tsmedley@access.k12.wv.us
Website: http://wvde.state.wv.us/


Wisconsin

Barbara Bitters
125 S. Webster St.
PO Box 7841
Madison, WI 53707-7841
E-mail: barbara.bitters@dpi.state.wi.us
Website: http://www.dpi.state.wi.us/


Wyoming

Peggy Brown-Clark
Wyoming Dept. of Education
2300 Capitol Avenue
Hathaway Building, 2nd Floor
Cheyenne, WY 82002-0050
Phone: 307.777.2555
E-mail: pclark@educ.state.wy.us
Website: http://www.k12.wy.us/

Notes:
* = State websites have lists of Title IX coordinators (for school districts and/or other categories)
For vocational technical education state equity contacts see National Alliance for Partnerships in Equity (NAPE)