To access Quick Links, visit our text-only version.

. Public Schools of North Carolina . . State Board of Education . . Department Of Public Instruction .


NEWS RELEASES 2003-04 :: FEBRUARY 19, 2004


Thirty North Carolina public schools today were recognized as "2003-04 Super Safe Schools" for providing a safe learning environment for children and educators. These schools received their awards during a luncheon ceremony at the 7th Annual Safe Schools Conference being held at the Sheraton Imperial, Research Triangle Park.

The Triple "S" School Award was established by the Department of Public Instruction's School Improvement Division to recognize public schools' exemplary efforts to ensure the safety of students and staff. "For students to learn, they must have an environment that promotes high achievement," State Superintendent Mike Ward said. "I congratulate these schools for going beyond the minimum to ensure that their students and teachers have the greatest opportunity to excel."

Super Safe Schools for 2003-04 are:

  • North Asheboro Middle (Asheboro City Schools);
  • Avery's Creek Elementary (Buncombe County Schools);
  • Glen Arden Elementary (Buncombe County Schools);
  • Mary Scroggs Elementary (Chapel Hill-Carrboro City Schools);
  • Pineville Elementary (Charlotte-Mecklenburg Schools);
  • Butler Avenue Elementary (Clinton City Schools);
  • Ashley Elementary (Cumberland County Schools);
  • Bragg Street Academy (Lee County Schools);
  • Page Street Elementary (Montgomery County Schools);
  • Winstead Avenue Elementary (Nash-Rocky Mount Schools);
  • Coopers Elementary (Nash-Rocky Mount Schools);
  • Dixon Middle (Onslow County Schools);
  • Perquimans Central (Perquimans County Schools);
  • Hertford Grammar (Perquimans County Schools);
  • Perquimans County High (Perquimans County Schools);
  • Saluda Elementary (Polk County Schools);
  • Sunny View Elementary (Polk County Schools);
  • Rohanen Junior High (Richmond County Schools);
  • Ellerbee Junior High (Richmond County Schools);
  • Monroe Avenue Elementary (Richmond County Schools);
  • Prospect Elementary (Robeson County Schools);
  • Oxendine Elementary (Robeson County Schools);
  • Red Springs High (Robeson County Schools);
  • East Robeson Primary (Robeson County Schools);
  • L. Gilbert Carroll Middle (Robeson County Schools);
  • Fairgrove Middle (Robeson County Schools);
  • Marvin Elementary (Union County Schools);
  • Shiloh Elementary (Union County Schools);
  • Wingate Elementary (Union County Schools); and
  • Forbush High (Yadkin County Schools).

To receive recognition as a Super Safe School, schools voluntarily submit a portfolio documenting the safety processes they have in place. The portfolios are evaluated and the scores received determine which schools achieve recognition. In recognition of their achievement, each school will receive a plaque designating them as a Triple "S" School for 2003-04.

For further information on the Super Safe School Program, please contact Juanita Morrison, Alternative & Safe Schools/Instructional Support Section, DPI, 919.807.3939.

About the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction:
The North Carolina Department of Public Instruction provides leadership to 115 local public school districts and 126 charter schools serving over 1.5 million students in kindergarten through high school graduation. The agency is responsible for all aspects of the state's public school system and works under the direction of the North Carolina State Board of Education.

For more information:
NCDPI Communication and Information Division, 919.807.3450.