To access Quick Links, visit our text-only version.

. Public Schools of North Carolina . . State Board of Education . . Department Of Public Instruction .


NEWS RELEASES 2006-07 :: FEBRUARY 6, 2007


Thanks to their efforts to provide students and staff with a safe learning environment, 35 North Carolina public schools were recently designated "2006-07 Super Safe Schools." Representatives of these schools received their awards during a luncheon ceremony at the 2007 Safe Schools and Character Education Conference held in Greensboro.

The Department of Public Instruction's School Safety and Climate Division established the Triple "S" School Award to recognize public schools' exemplary efforts to ensure the safety of students and staff. "We know that if we are to help students achieve at higher levels then all children and adults need to learn and work in a safe and supportive environment," State Superintendent June Atkinson said. "Proper attention to the school environment is critical to success in the classroom for every student and every teacher."

Super Safe Schools for 2006-07 are:

Supply Elementary Brunswick County Schools
Butler Avenue Elementary Clinton City Schools
Clinton High Clinton City Schools
Chowan Middle Edenton/Chowan Schools
White Oak Elementary Edenton/Chowan Schools
DF Walker Elementary Edenton/Chowan Schools
Greene County Middle Greene County Schools
Snow Hill Primary Greene County Schools
West Greene Elementary Greene County Schools
Sandy Grove Elementary Hoke County Schools
Pineville Elementary Charlotte/Mecklenburg Schools
Dr. John Codington Elementary New Hanover County Schools
Hunters Creek Middle Onslow County Schools
Southwest Middle Onslow County Schools
Swansboro Middle Onslow County Schools
Richlands Primary Onslow County Schools
Northeastern High Elizabeth City/Pasquotank Schools
Perquimans County Middle Perquimans County Schools
Perquimans Central Perquimans County Schools
Richmond Primary Richmond County Schools
Rohanen Primary Richmond County Schools
Southside-Ashpole Elementary Robeson County Schools
Rosenwald Elementary Robeson County Schools
Rowland Norment Elementary Robeson County Schools
Littlefield Middle Robeson County Schools
East Robeson Primary Robeson County Schools
Hobbton Middle Sampson County Schools
Monroe High Union County Schools
Sun Valley High Union County Schools
Unionville Elementary Union County Schools
Walter Bickett Elementary Union County Schools
Vandora Springs Elementary Wake County Schools
Reedy Creek Middle Wake County Schools
Forbush High Yadkin County Schools
Yadkin Success Academy Yadkin County Schools


To receive recognition as a Super Safe School, schools voluntarily submit a portfolio documenting the safety processes they have in place. The portfolios are evaluated and the scores received determine which schools are recognized. In recognition of their achievement, each school will receive a plaque designating them as a Triple "S" School for 2006-07.

For more information on the Super Safe Schools program, please contact the NCDPI Communications division at 919.807.3450.

About the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction:
The North Carolina Department of Public Instruction provides leadership to 115 local public school districts and 126 charter schools serving over 1.5 million students in kindergarten through high school graduation. The agency is responsible for all aspects of the state's public school system and works under the direction of the North Carolina State Board of Education.

For more information:
NCDPI Communication and Information Division, 919.807.3450.