NEWS RELEASES 2009-10 :: JANUARY 26, 2010


Nearly 70 school superintendents and technology directors from across the state will soon learn how to use technology more effectively thanks to a new a certification program offered through a partnership between the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction (NCDPI), MCNC and the UNC School of Government's Center for Public Technology. (See list of participants at end of release.)

"The Center for Public Technology at the UNC School of Government is thrilled to offer the nation's first technology-centered certification programs for North Carolina K-12 superintendents and technology directors," said UNC School of Government Center for Public Technology Director Shannon Tufts. "These programs will provide invaluable education and training to help superintendents and technology officers make strategic investments in technologies to enhance students' learning and engagement in their education."

NCDPI Chief Information Officer Peter Asmar said that he is excited to be a partner in this inaugural professional development opportunity. "Technology is an integral component of a 21st century education. District leaders need specific knowledge and skills to ensure that they are using technology in the most effective and productive ways possible," Asmar said.

The certification programs' goals are to help school leaders manage the expanding role of information technology, protect the district from security threats, and keep pace with new technology trends.

Superintendents will participate in the "Leaders for the 21st Century" Certification Program - a 20-hour instructional program. They initially will meet for a day-long session with their technology directors to discuss the role of transformational leadership in K-12 education. This will be followed by two additional 3-hour sessions over the course of the program and conclude with a joint meeting with technology directors to review best practices created by the technology directors during their course of study.

Technology directors will participate in the "Certified Educational Chief Technology Officers" Certification Program - a 240-hour instructional program. This 10-month course establishes the foundation for assessing and addressing some of the most critical issues facing information technology leaders in school systems. The purpose of the program is to equip school leaders with the tools to help them manage and improve organizational technology.

Instruction begins Feb. 9 and concludes with a graduation ceremony on Nov. 17. The courses are based on the Certified Government Chief Information Officers Program. For more information, please contact the NCDPI's Communications division at 919.807.3450 or Shannon Tufts, director of the UNC School of Government Center for Public Technology, at 919.962.5438.

Certification program participants:

Alleghany County Schools Jeff Cox Leslie Clark
Avery County Schools Keith Eades Dennis Brown
Caldwell County Schools Steve Stone Raymond Norman
Caswell County Schools Douglas Barker David Useche
Catawba County Schools Tim Markley Judith Ray
Cherokee County Schools Stephen Lane Jeana Hardin
Currituck County Schools Meghan Doyle Paul O'Briant
Edenton-Chowan Schools Allan Smith Nelle Hyatt
Franklin County Schools Edward Ingram Christopher Shearer
Halifax County Schools Elease Frederick Stacy Lee
Harnett County Schools Phillip Ferrell Thomas Frye
Haywood County Schools Anne Garrett Nathan Trantham
Hoke County Schools Freddie Williamson Jason Atkinson
Hyde County Schools Gregory Todd Shelby Gibbs
Johnston County Schools Ed Croom Diana Freeman
Lee County Schools Jeff Moss Cindy Johnson
Lenior County Schools Terry Cline Philip Decker
Lincoln County Schools David Martin Lee O'Neal
Macon County Schools Dan Brigman Tim Burrell
Mitchell County Schools Brock Womble Janie Duncan
Moore County Schools Susan Purser Anthony Tuso
Mt. Airy City Schools Darrin Hartness Judy Walker
Orange County Schools Patrick Rhodes Angela Veitch
Person County Schools Larry Cartner Deborah Burleson-Smith
Polk County Schools William Miller David Scherping
Rockingham Co. Schools Rodney Shotwell Dennis Frye/Lee Cummings
Stanly County Schools Samuel DePaul Brandon DeLeeuw
Surry County Schools Ashley Hinson Jill Reinhardt
Transylvania Co. Schools Jeffrey McDaris Donys Merrill
Vance County Schools Norman Shearin Marsha Abbott
Warren County Schools Ray Spain Christopher Withrow
Whiteville City Schools Tom Hager Anthony Martin
Yancey County Schools Tom Little Walter Peterson

About the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction:
The North Carolina Department of Public Instruction provides leadership to 115 local public school districts and 160 charter schools serving over 1.5 million students in kindergarten through high school graduation. The agency is responsible for all aspects of the state's public school system and works under the direction of the North Carolina State Board of Education.

For more information:
NCDPI Communication and Information Division, 919.807.3450.