NEWS RELEASES 2010-11 :: NOVEMBER 3, 2010


Gov. Bev Perdue's Education Transformation Commission will hold its first meeting on Friday, Nov. 5, 2010, from 10 a.m. until 2 p.m. at the Friday Institute, Room 101. The Institute is on the Centennial Campus of North Carolina State University.

The Commission will advise the State Board of Education and Governor regarding the strategic direction of the State's Race to the Top initiative and Gov. Perdue's Career & College: Ready, Set, Go! plan for public education.

Gov. Perdue signed Executive Order No. 65 in September, which appointed the Commission to provide oversight on the state's Race to the Top implementation and coordination with Career & College: Ready, Set, Go!

The Commission's 26 members represent education associations, business and industry leaders, and local school district leaders. Dr. Bill Harrison, chair of the State Board of Education and the Governor's advisor for education transformation, chairs the Transformation Commission.

Other members are:
Lt. Governor Walter Dalton, chair of the eLearning Commission
State Superintendent June Atkinson
Alisa Chapman, associate vice president, UNC General Administration
James Coon, superintendent, Pamlico County Schools
David Cooper, dean, School of Education, Elon University
Ed Dunlap, executive director, NC School Boards Association
Jennifer Facciolini, 2010-11 NC Teacher of the Year
Carl Forsyth, Voyager Academy
Jessica Garner, 2009-10 NC Teacher of the Year
Elizabeth Glennie, senior research analyst, RTI International
Pete Gorman, superintendent, Charlotte-Mecklenburg Schools
Debra Horton, executive director of NC Parent Teacher Association
Glenn Kleiman, executive director of the Friday Institute for Educational Innovation
Howard Lee, executive director of the Education Cabinet
Cynthia Marshall, chair of NC Chamber of Commerce
Bill McNeal, executive director of NC Association of School Administrators
Wanda McPhaul, Visiting International Faculty
Erin Swanson Oschwald, executive director of Teach for America
Jose Picart, vice provost NC State University
Shirley Prince, executive director of the N.C. Principals & Assistant Principals' Association
Judith Rizzo, executive director of the Hunt Institute
Mark Sorrells, president of NC Grant Makers Association
Sheri Strickland, president of NC Association of Educators
Ludy Van Broekhuizen, executive director, Southern Education Region Vision for Education

For more information, please contact the NC Department of Public Instruction, Communications office, 919.807.3450.

About the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction:
The North Carolina Department of Public Instruction provides leadership to 115 local public school districts and 160 charter schools serving over 1.5 million students in kindergarten through high school graduation. The agency is responsible for all aspects of the state's public school system and works under the direction of the North Carolina State Board of Education.

For more information:
NCDPI Communication and Information Division, 919.807.3450.