NEWS RELEASES 2010-11 :: NOVEMBER 30, 2010


The Governor's Education Transformation Commission's subcommittees will meet over the next few days. With the exception of the Turnaround subcommittee, all meetings will be held in the Education Building, 301 N. Wilmington Street, Raleigh, NC. The Turnaround subcommittee will meet via webinar (directions for attending the webinar are below).

The Education Transformation Commission was formed to advise the State Board of Education and the Governor regarding the strategic direction of the state's Race to the Top initiative and Gov. Perdue's Career & College: Ready, Set, Go! plan for public education. The Commission's 26 members represent education associations, business and industry, and local school districts. Dr. Bill Harrison, chair of the State Board of Education and the Governor's advisor for education transformation, chairs the Transformation Commission.

Subcommittee Agenda Items: Review State and Local Scopes of Work, Review Evaluation Questions, Next Steps

Teachers and Leaders
Thursday, Dec. 2
1-3 p.m.
Room 755
Committee Members: Shirley Prince, chair; Erin Swanson Oschwald; David Cooper; Alisa Chapman; Sheri Strickland; Jennifer Facciolini; Jessica Garner

Thursday, Dec. 2
2-4 p.m.
Committee Members: Ludy van Broekhuizen, chair; Wanda McPhaul; Mark Sorrels; Carl Forsyth

Webinar Link:

You will be connected to audio using your computer's microphone and speakers (VoIP). A headset is recommended.

Or, you may select use a telephone after joining the Webinar.
Dial: +1 213 286 1201
Panelist Access Code: 291-996-056
Audio PIN: Shown after joining the Webinar
Webinar ID: 386-368-992
(System Requirements
PC-based attendees
Required: Windows(R) 7, Vista, XP or 2003 Server
Macintosh(R)-based attendees
Required: Mac OS(R) X 10.4.11 (Tiger(R)) or newer)

Data Systems
Thursday, Dec. 2
2:30-4 p.m.
Room 746
Committee Members: Elizabeth Glennie, chair; Albert Eckel; Cynthia Marshall; James Coon

Standards and Assessment
Friday, Dec. 3
1-2:30 p.m.
Room 746
Committee Members: Howard Lee, chair; Judith Rizzo; Debra Horton; Ed Dunlap

Program Management and LEAs
Monday, Dec. 6
3:30-4:45 p.m.
Room 755
Committee Members: Jose Picart, chair; Peter Gorman; Glenn Kleiman; Bill McNeal

About the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction:
The North Carolina Department of Public Instruction provides leadership to 115 local public school districts and 160 charter schools serving over 1.5 million students in kindergarten through high school graduation. The agency is responsible for all aspects of the state's public school system and works under the direction of the North Carolina State Board of Education.

For more information:
NCDPI Communication and Information Division, 919.807.3450.