NEWS RELEASES 2011-12 :: JULY 1, 2011


Twelve North Carolina schools will receive professional development and support to enhance their media and technology programs as a result of their recent receipt of the IMPACT V Grant awards. The professional development will enable local schools to implement IMPACT: Guidelines for North Carolina Media and Technology Programs. These guidelines support programming that ensures high student achievement through the use of technology in the overall school curriculum. Additionally they will receive funding to purchase 21st century media and technology tools for use both inside and outside the school.

IMPACT V grants are funded through the competitive portion of North Carolina's Title II, D, Enhancing Education Through Technology allocation from the federal No Child Left Behind program. The grants are aligned with the North Carolina Educational Technology Plan and IMPACT: Guidelines for North Carolina Media and Technology Programs. In order to qualify for these grants, these districts participated in extensive planning and visioning over a four-month period before the grant was submitted.

Grant recipients and awards are as follows:

Alexander County East Alexander Middle School $186,452.87
Buncombe County Enka High School
Charles D. Owen Middle School
Burke County Robert L. Patton High School $186,452.87
Craven County New Bern High School
West Craven Middle School
Cumberland County Pine Forest High School $186,452.87
Winston-Salem/Forsyth County Glenn High School
Paisley IB Magnet School
Randolph County Archdale Trinity Middle School $186,452.87
Richmond County Hamlet Middle School $186,452.87
Wilson County Toisnot Middle School $186,452.87

Beginning this fall, school and district leaders will receive IMPACT Model implementation training, coaching services and graduate-level coursework. To meet federal No Child Left Behind mandates for state grant renewal, districts must participate in a formal evaluation managed by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction, in partnership with the North Carolina State University Friday Institute for Educational Innovation.

"By implementing the IMPACT Model, these districts will join a network of model schools across the state. The IMPACT Model includes collaborative planning among teachers, media coordinators and technology facilitators. As a result of this collaboration, students in these schools can be seen working in small groups facilitated by their teacher, media coordinator, or technology facilitator. In prior grant schools, students can be seen using technology in learning by creating and producing a school news program and by making instructional podcasts and videos. Some previously non-responsive students are now engaged through the use of interactive whiteboards and response systems. This particular IMPACT Model initiative will focus on building 21st century school and classroom leaders, and will rely upon a cohort of cross-curriculum teachers to provide the 'just-in-time' and formal professional development normally provided by technology facilitators. We look forward to learning how other schools can affect technology- and media-related professional development through this model," said Neill Kimrey, director of Instructional Technology, NCDPI.

Eligibility for these grants was based on the federal criteria of high poverty and high technology need. Overall, 226 schools met the eligibility requirements. The NCDPI received 13 Letters of Intent to apply and 12 actual applications.

For more information, please contact Neill Kimrey, Instructional Technology, NCDPI, 919.807.3828.

About the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction:
The North Carolina Department of Public Instruction provides leadership to 115 local public school districts and 160 charter schools serving over 1.5 million students in kindergarten through high school graduation. The agency is responsible for all aspects of the state's public school system and works under the direction of the North Carolina State Board of Education.

For more information:
NCDPI Communication and Information Division, 919.807.3450.