NEWS RELEASES 2011-12 :: FEBRUARY 1, 2012


Eight outstanding public school principals have been selected as regional Wells Fargo North Carolina Principals of the Year and will now compete for the state title of 2012 Wells Fargo North Carolina Principal of the Year. The winner will succeed the 2011 Wells Fargo North Carolina Principal of the Year Rob Jackson. Jackson is principal of Cuthbertson High (Union County Schools).

The regional principals of the year are:

  • North Central Region: Drew Cook, Garner High (Wake County Schools);
  • Northeast Region: Clay Wagner, Riverside High (Martin County Schools);
  • Northwest Region: Kelly Withers, Jesse Carson High (Rowan-Salisbury Schools);
  • Southeast Region: Glenn Reed, Blue Creek Elementary (Onslow County Schools);
  • Southwest Region: Hilda Batts, AT Allen Elementary (Cabarrus County Schools);
  • Sandhills/South Central Region: Sara Bigley, Pinehurst Elementary, (Moore County Schools);
  • Piedmont-Triad/Central Region: Patrice Faison, Oak Hill Elementary (Guilford County Schools); and
  • West Region: Brad Teague, East Rutherford Middle (Rutherford County Schools).

"Congratulations to these eight talented school leaders who have gone above and beyond to prepare students for the next grade and life after high school graduation," said State Superintendent June Atkinson. "Thanks also to the Wells Fargo Foundation for their faithful sponsorship of this program, which allows us to recognize the outstanding administrators who work so hard on behalf of North Carolina's almost 1.5 million public school students."

"At Wells Fargo, we believe every child deserves a quality education and it is extraordinary educators like these eight principals that make this possible," said Juan Austin, Wells Fargo's Community Affairs Manager. "We are proud to support this program and to celebrate the men and women who are making a positive difference in our schools and communities. We thank them for their tireless commitment and the impact they have on our students."

A State Selection Committee will review the portfolios of the eight regional winners and visit each candidate's school campus. Results of these site visits, portfolio assessments and personal interviews will be used to determine the 2012 Wells Fargo North Carolina Principal of the Year.

The recipient will be announced on April 5 in Raleigh during a luncheon sponsored by Wells Fargo to honor the regional winners. The Wells Fargo North Carolina Principal of the Year will receive a $3,000 check for personal use and/or professional development and a $3,000 check for his or her school to purchase materials or other equipment. The winner also will serve a one-year term as advisor to the State Board of Education. The eight regional winners each will receive $1,000 for personal use and $1,000 for their schools.

Since the program began in 1984, the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction and The Wells Fargo Foundation have recognized 32 Principals of the Year, and 210 regional recipients. In addition, The Wells Fargo Foundation has provided more than $1 million in cash awards to these individuals. In its 28th year, the program provides a unique opportunity to recognize outstanding principals from North Carolina public schools.

About the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction:
The North Carolina Department of Public Instruction provides leadership to 115 local public school districts and 160 charter schools serving over 1.5 million students in kindergarten through high school graduation. The agency is responsible for all aspects of the state's public school system and works under the direction of the North Carolina State Board of Education.

For more information:
NCDPI Communication and Information Division, 919.807.3450.