To access Quick Links, visit our text-only version.

Organization Home 
Mission Statement 
State Superintendent 
DPI Leadership Team 
State Board of Education 
Organization Chart 
Strategic Planning & Performance 
Need Help? Call ... 
DPI Intranet 
. Public Schools of North Carolina . . State Board of Education . . Department Of Public Instruction .


June St. Clair Atkinson, State Superintendent

June St. Clair Atkinson was elected as the North Carolina State Superintendent of Public Instruction in November 2004, re-elected in 2008, and re-elected for a third term in 2012. Dr. Atkinson is North Carolina's first woman elected to this position. She heads the NC Department of Public Instruction, an agency which she served for nearly 34 years as a chief consultant and director in the areas of business education, career and technical education, and instructional services. As a former business education teacher, Atkinson has been involved in instruction and curriculum development throughout her career. She is past president of the National Business Education Association, Southern Regional Education Board's High Schools that Work, and the National Association of State Directors of Career and Technical Education Consortium. Atkinson is a member of Delta Kappa Gamma and Phi Delta Kappa and was inducted into East Carolina University's College of Education Educator Hall of Fame in 2008. She received a Bachelor's degree in Business Education from Radford University in 1969, a Master's degree in Vocational and Technical Education from Virginia Tech in 1974, and a Doctorate degree in Educational Leadership and Policy from North Carolina State University in 1996.

Rebecca Garland, Chief Academic Officer

Rebecca Garland is the Chief Academic Officer for the NCDPI. Before assuming this position, she served as the executive director for the North Carolina State Board of Education. In her 30-plus years in education, she has served as a teacher with Harnett County Public Schools, a consultant for the NCDPI in content and gifted education, a director of Middle Schools/Arts/and Gifted Education for Alamance-Burlington Schools, and an associate superintendent for Curriculum and Instruction for Orange County Schools. She holds a Bachelor’s degree in History from the University of North Carolina – Greensboro, a Master's degree in Education from Campbell University, and a Doctorate in Education Leadership from North Carolina State University.

Philip Price, Chief Financial Officer

Philip Price rejoined the NCDPI in November 2002 as Chief Financial Officer. Price originally joined the Department in 1978 after graduating with degrees in Accounting and Economics from North Carolina State University. He worked in various capacities within the accounting operations of the NCDPI until December 1999. From December 1999 until he returned to the Department in late 2002, Price worked with the Fiscal Research staff of the North Carolina General Assembly where he continued to concentrate on public schools.


Mike McLaughlin, Senior Policy Advisor to the State Superintendent
Rachel Beaulieu, Legislative and Community Affairs Director
Jeani Allen, Internal Auditor


Lou Fabrizio, Director, Data, Research and Federal Policy
Vanessa Jeter, Director, Communication and Information Services
Adam Levinson, Director, Race to the Top
Lou Ann Phillips, Director, Human Resources


Rob Hines, Director, LEA Projects
Tom Tomberlin, Director, District LEA Human Resources Support
Debora Williams, Special Assistant for Graduation and Dropout Prevention Initiatives
Pat Ashley, Director, District and School Transformation
Joyce Loveless, Early College High School Initiative
Lynne Johnson, Director, Educator Effectiveness
Donna Brown, Director, Program Monitoring and Support Services
Vacant, Deputy Chief Academic Officer
Tammy Howard, Director, Accountability Operations
Jo Anne Honeycutt, Director, Career and Technical Education
Neill Kimrey, Director, Digital Teaching and Learning
Bill Hussey, Director, Exceptional Children
Carolyn Guthrie, Director, K-3 Literacy Program
Robin McCoy, Director, K-12 Curriculum and Technology
Sarah McManus, Director, Learning Systems
John Pruette, Director, Office of Early Learning


Sarah Harris, Director, Financial Services
Alexis Schauss, Director, School Business Administration
Ben Matthews, Director, Safe and Healthy Schools Support
Joel Medley, Director, Office of Charter Schools
Susan Ruiz, Section Chief, Licensure
Suresh Pothireddy, Manager, Technical Architecture
Julien Alhour, Manager, Strategic Technical Application Transition
Rodney McLaurin, Manager, IT Infrastructure
George Batten, Manager, Deploying Systems - Communications
Quentin Parker, Manager, Enterprise Application Development
Rosalyn Galloway, Manager, NC WISE/PowerSchool Conversion
Donna Roch, Manager, IT Department Coordination & Data Management